Skip to content

Cross Country Teams are Conference Champions

Cross Country Conference Champ 2023

The Saint John’s Prep Cross Country varsity team had an exciting meet at the Central Minnesota Central Minnesota Conference Meet at Kimball Golf Club on Tuesday, October 17. Both the Prep girls’ and the boys’ teams won the championship titles!

The boys’ team won the conference title with 38 points over Holdingford’s 43 points. The girls’ team won the meet with 34 points over Paynesville’s 71 points. This is the first time in Prep’s 166 year school history  that both the boys’ and girls’ teams have won both conference championships in the same year! This is the third year in a row the boys have won the conference championship as a team. This is the third year in a row that Olivia Pauly has won the individual conference title. This is the second year for Zach Meyer to earn the individual conference title and Nick Hansen’s third year for earning second place in the conference race.

Seniors Zach Meyer and Olivia Pauly earned first place with Senior Nick Hansen and Junior Louise Ruzanic earning second place. Junior Ben Suo and Freshmen Margaret Duffy and Sofia Pauly earned All-Conference Honors. Seniors Aaron Ruesink and Megan Mahowald, and Junior Sylvie Bechtold earned All- Conference Honorable Mention recognition. Way to go Johnnies!

The Johnnies are coached by Lance Nydeen, Stephen Woods ’09 and Kurt Salzl ’87.

Click here for the junior varsity and middle school results from the race. Here are our athletes’ race details:

Varsity Boys

Zach MeyerSt.. Joseph1216:161All Conference, Conference Champion
Nick HansenSt. Joseph1216:222All Conference
Ben SuoSt. Cloud1117:084All Conference
Aaron RuesinkSartell/St. Joseph1218:2913All Conference – Honorable Mention
Will VixSt. Joseph1018:5018
Laurenz HaselbockMelk, Austria1018:5419
Lane McIntyreSt. Joseph1019:3121

Varsity Girls

Olivia PaulySt. Cloud1218:571All Conference, Conference Champion
Louise RuzanicCold Spring1220:362All Conference
Margaret DuffyCold Spring922:257All Conference
Sofie PaulySt. Cloud922:4010All Conference
Sylvie BechtoldSt. Joseph1123:2814All Conference – Honorable Mention
Megan MahowaldSartell1223:3615All Conference – Honorable Mention
Ellen BechtoldSt. Joseph823:5418

Boys’ Junior Varsity Earns Second Place

In the Junior Varsity boys’ race, Senior PoHuan Lu of Taipei City, Taiwan earned first place with a time of 19:13:20, Freshman Ryan Mahowald of Sartell earned fourth place with a time of 19:26.60, and Senior Patrick Duffy of Cold Spring earned eighth place with a time of 19:59:20. The boys’ Junior Varsity team earned second place behind Holdingford. Click here to see the results from the Junior Varsity and middle school races.